Slow and steady

Posted on December 14, 2008. Filed under: blogs | Tags: |

My other blog is almost five months old now.  That’s pretty good, since I wasn’t going to get it online until after November.

It doesn’t have a lot of readers yet, but the readers I have enjoy it. Some of them “don’t read other blogs,” as they tell me via email. And they don’t know how to post Comments, they say — and that’s why they email. They like that it doesn’t take long to read. It’s a break in the day for them.

And that makes me happy because that’s exactly how I want my site’s readers to feel.

I designed it like Peter Jackson reportedly designed Hobbiton for “The Lord of the Rings,” as a place where people would want to go on holiday.

So it’s a pretty place. A diversion with pretty pictures and sometimes funny, sometimes playfully snarky prose.

Anthony Bourdain is another influence. DH and I watch “No Reservations” faithfully. We like his mix of irreverence and poignancy.

Most of the other blogs in its niche are more how-to’s. Or they’re a diary. p. And some are just places for people to jeer at other people.

Even though mine has an animal at its center, it’s not just about the animal. Or a journey with the animal. It’s sort of a journey to the animal.

Huh?

So, I think that makes me a travel writer.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Slow and steady”

RSS Feed for Still-Untitled Blog Comments RSS Feed

Too funny. I’m so happy your other blog has worked out the way you wanted. Setting these up and getting them going is not that easy. I’m working on a blog for the shelter I work in and trying to get other volunteers to contribute has proved… impossible. Ah well. Slow and steady wins the race, yes. I hope my shelter blog will bring a few happy readers, too. Keep up the great work!
~Debbie

Travel writer. That’s funny. It sounds like you found a niche and filled it. Congratulations.

Thanks, Beth. Yeah, it’s a stretch, I suppose, but I suppose that it still counts if you can connect the dots. 😉


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

